Oakfield C of E Primary School

Miss Howlett and Miss Woolston – EYFS/Year 1 (Key Stage 1)

Welcome to Early Years Foundation Stage and Year 1

This half term in Early Years we are beginning to prepare for our Transition into Year 1. We are having a big focus on independence and ensuring children are as ready for the National Curriculum as possible. We are encouraging our children to come into the classroom independently when possible and to be responsible for their own belongings. We are thinking about how our behaviours might make others feel and how we are beginning to be able to control our actions and have an awareness of other people’s feelings.
We are going to be learning about New Life and Life cycles as we watch our Tadpoles grow and start the care for Mrs Rowe’s tortoise Freda as she comes out of hibernation. We are going to begin our swimming lessons at Waterside pool and Forest School sessions too!
We are going to be focusing on using and applying our phonics in our reading and writing, within our play. Making signs and writing letters, notes, menus etc. In mathematics we will be looking at numbers to 20, place value and addition and subtraction within this part of the number system.


Here is our Class Gallery...

Our learning in action!

If you require a hard copy of any of the documents from this website, please do not hesitate to contact the school.