St John's House since 1st September 2012 is part of Oakfield CE (Aided) Primary School. Prior to this from 1971 to August 2011 is was home to Bishop Lovett Church of England Middle School and from 1946 to 1971 was home to Ryde Secondary Modern School. There beyond, it was a residential house
It is more than 243 years since it's construction in about 1769 and its history is fascinating. Its owners include a general, two MPs and an amateur scientist. It has been let to many other interesting people and has even been the subject of an Act of Parliament.
Undoubtedly more information could be found about the people connected with St. John's House, but what follows is the history of our main school building and, to a certain extent, the area which surrounds it. We hope that readers will find it as interesting as we have done; researching characters from the past is fascinating and makes history come alive, especially so when it concerns a part of our daily life at school.